Concrete Jungle

Published by

on

Clifford Court, West Smethwick
Clifford Court, West Smethwick

Many thanks to Kate Gordon, who got in touch after last week’s post on the concrete jungle of the West Smethwick estate. She very kindly provided some fantastic photos showing just how the estate got its nickname – doesn’t take a great stretch of imagination does it!

The estate was officially titled Galton Village, or alternatively the West Smethwick Estate. These photos were taken in 1985-6 when consultation was being conducted for re-painting some of the blocks. It was hardly the Broadwater Farm mural – residents ended up with the off-white below, a mint green or a mushroom brown.

West Smethwick estate after re-painting
West Smethwick estate after re-painting
West Smethwick Estate
West Smethwick Estate
Heron Court, West Smethwick Estate
Heron Court, West Smethwick Estate
West Smethwick Estate - not sure if the block in the background is Sandfield Point or Malthouse Point?
West Smethwick Estate – not sure if the block in the background is Sandfield Point or Malthouse Point?

These pictures are pretty amazing really. They depict the tipping point of a political and social moment, just before estates like this began to be either razed to the ground or completely renovated. The heavily modernist architecture was supposed to be the future – the likes of Le Corbusier, Goldfinger or the Smithsons were held up not just as planners but as urban theorists. Perhaps that was the problem: it takes more than architecture to create a community. The pictures stand almost as a relic now – so much work has been done on estates like this now that you’ll be hard pressed to find similarly-grim conditions these days – at least aesthetically.

73 responses to “Concrete Jungle”

  1. Jean Fletcher Avatar

    As grim as they looked, good times were had on the jungle. Nobody was any better or worse than their neighbour, we were all in the same pot. I think the jungle should have been kept, not destroyed. I was gutted when it fell. This estate had a community which was tied together in more ways than just a postcode. Even today when I drive past, I don’t see the new houses, I see what was.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. david critchley Avatar
      david critchley

      Very true i had some of my best days on the jungle a lot of times man takes me back

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Dean Cavanagh Avatar
      Dean Cavanagh

      Hi Jean,
      Always liked you from afar.
      How is Colin?
      I think of you from time to time.
      You won’t remember me.

      Like

    3. Daniel Bagnall Avatar
      Daniel Bagnall

      My mum and dad lived there Danny Bagnall and Christine bagnall

      Like

  2. staffordshirebred Avatar

    In disrepair, and litter-strewn, housing developments of this era don’t appeal to most of us now as good places to live. I do wonder whether, if the architects who conceived them had been given sufficient budget and authority for ongoing maintenance and even evolution of the buildings, they might have been able to show a fulfilment of the radical idealism with which they were built. Fashions change, and I predict that we will look back one day with interest and appreciation at “brutalist” architecture as completely redolent of its times. It will be a rarity, after all.

    Like

    1. ohsimone Avatar
      ohsimone

      I agree – a housing solution isn’t a one-off payment to deal with a problem.

      There’s already quite a following for a lot of brutalist architecture – the Trellick Tower in North Kensington (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trellick_Tower) for example is now highly sought after, despite being an hive of villainy in its time. I could cite Park Hill in Sheffield, Preston Bus Station and the Barbican flats too, all listed buildings. Owen Hatherley’s would be a good place to start for that: http://urbantrawl.blogspot.co.uk/

      Like

  3. Ross Murray Avatar
    Ross Murray

    I spent the first 18 years of my life on the jungle and I miss the community feeling from then I can honestly say I have never had as much fun anywhere else I have lived .
    My family was moved out when they where being demolished modernised the estate now has its own police station I mean yea it was bit rough when I was there but we didn’t need a permanent police presence

    Like

  4. Emma oconnor Avatar
    Emma oconnor

    I was brought up on the concrete jungle those were the best days of my life miss then so much it will always b the the concrete jungle to me best days was livin on there

    Like

    1. jayne woods Avatar
      jayne woods

      I agree Emma, such great childhood memories, never forget it

      Like

      1. Tracey shaw/ dutton Avatar
        Tracey shaw/ dutton

        Best days off my life. Everyone new each other and could walk round at night and know you would be safe. No chance off that now. You just have to make sure your locked behind doors after dark.

        Like

  5. caroline sandland Avatar

    i grew up on the jungle and meet some wanderfull friends which i still see today like jackie my best friend that shouted for me just from her bedroom window lol and my other friends i grew up with and never forget them. them times are my childhood memories that will never leave my life .xxx

    Like

  6. caroline sandland Avatar

    i lived on sheppy court xx

    Like

    1. Stephen Horton Avatar

      My Brother and his Family lived in Sheppey Court.

      Like

  7. Mike Collins Avatar
    Mike Collins

    I never lived on the jungle but spent most of my life down there my dad Tony Pembrey and my grandparents lived there mainly at Bute Court but they were moved to Sandpiper Court then Thames Court during the re-mods my dad still lives there 46 years now I don’t think he’ll ever move he calls it “His Jungle” lol but always says he misses the old jungle before it was a community now its just an estate shame really

    Like

    1. Dave Ormston Avatar

      I went to school with Anthony Pembrey. Tell him Dave Ormston said hello 🙂

      Like

    2. paul durnall Avatar
      paul durnall

      i used to live on brown sea court. we moved in when the estate was first built . I remember the Pembreys well.my mum even let one of the sisters, Jackie I think? borrow her wedding dress. I also remember the Kelly family

      Like

    3. Aprill Roberts Avatar
      Aprill Roberts

      Hi
      I lived in Tiree court
      Played with Jackie . Any relation to you ?
      Aprill Edwards

      Like

  8. Living on the skyline | BrownhillsBob's Brownhills Blog Avatar

    […] others to do some brilliant and thought provoking work. The superlative Up the Oss Road blog has a stunning post on the end-times of the Smethwick West estate, a truly grim place which I knew well. Do check it […]

    Like

  9. joe Avatar
    joe

    at of the old buildings are still there they were just cladded in brick and a pitched roof put on.

    Like

  10. Vikki Avatar
    Vikki

    I lived in Brownsea court and on its demolition moved to Bute court , great times made many friends xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Dave Heaton Avatar
    Dave Heaton

    I lived on Heron Court from 1971 to 1977. I got some great memories of the place. A wonderful community.

    Like

    1. rbrt672 Avatar
      rbrt672

      Dave can you elaborate on your comment. I’m looking into this as my birth certificate address is Heron Court and I am looking into this. My email address is rbrtcoles09@gmail.com. Cheers.

      Like

  12. Stuart Avatar
    Stuart

    My dad lived on Clyde court and still lives on there today my mom worked in the pub when I was little and my uncle as a garage next to the sauna and still going today fixing the land rovers

    Like

    1. Maureen Hickman was Davies. Avatar
      Maureen Hickman was Davies.

      I lived in Clyde Court between 1969 and 1976 or there about,my family name was Davies-Shuck.

      Like

    2. Lee Mortimer Avatar
      Lee Mortimer

      Hi Stuart

      My family lived in 8 Clyde Court up until about 1990. What was your family surname.

      Like

  13. mary law Avatar

    We lived in Clifford court & we had great neibours, was a good community. I worked at the Waggon pub & knew nearly everyone off the estate & both blocks of flats great folks all of them

    Like

    1. Surj Kumar Avatar

      Hi Mary, we lived at 16 Clifford court i recall, it was my mum dad and two sisters i don’t recall any other Asians then we left in 1989 after 7 years or so, the grass infront then the main road infront and of course my primary school Nine Leasowes, happy days and community that i will never forget, feeling sad thinking about it now.

      Like

    2. Surj Kumar Avatar

      Sorry I lived at No 6 Clifford Court

      Like

  14. Keith Billingsley Avatar
    Keith Billingsley

    I lived in Clyde Court from 1972 until 1981 when we moved to Langley; we had some great friends there and those houses were great. We heard of problems with some but none with ours. My dad Graham was the Littlewoods pools collector and I used to help him on a Friday night. Happy times. It saddens me when I read some of the rubbish that non-residents spout.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dean Cavanagh Avatar
      Dean Cavanagh

      Don’t n’y forget the Batman & Superman outfits, Keith!
      Plus, you look bed your dream of being a bus driver… Good on you!

      Like

      1. Lee Mortimer Avatar
        Lee Mortimer

        Taking a long shot here, but there can’t be more than one Dean Cavanagh on the jungle.

        Like

  15. paul durnall Avatar
    paul durnall

    my family were one of the first to move there in 69. we lived at brownsea court. happy times.

    Like

  16. Mark Hadley Avatar
    Mark Hadley

    I lived on Brownsea court (23) and my cousin lived at No7. It was a great time and you got your street smarts living in the jungle.

    Like

  17. katie simpson Avatar
    katie simpson

    My brother n I was born on brownsea court (21) and my mom had close friends near by and we are all still friends today. later on we moved bk on the jungle on maple court where my 2 sisters was born we really enjoyed the community of the state

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Gina Avatar
    Gina

    I lived at #10 Runnymede Court. I had a great time living there. Left in 1982.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ray Massey Avatar
      Ray Massey

      HI Gina, I lived at No. 11 Runnymeade Court and left in 1983 unfortunately my brother Thomas was killed there aged 5. I remember I lived next door to the Wilkes family, we had the Eggington family further down who else lived there?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dean Cavanagh Avatar
        Dean Cavanagh

        Hi Ray (Raymond as I recall).
        Dean Cavanagh, lived at No. 9 from 1972 to 1988.
        I was in the same year at George Betts as Tracy. Still think about Thomas reguraly. Such a horrible day. Also remember my dad (Jock) saving Steven from a beating one evening….

        Like

      2. Ray Massey Avatar
        Ray Massey

        Hi Dean,

        I remember you and your brother (not his name??) and of course your Dad Jock but who was Steven – was he your brother?
        I remember very fondly us making an igloo in your garden one winter and your Mom giving us ice cream in it – we must have been about 9, 10 and 11?
        I hope all are OK and well – please pass on my best.

        Like

      3. Jean Fletcher Avatar
        Jean Fletcher

        Ray, I actually remember the afternoon your little brother died. I was home from school that day as had been to the hospital for an appointment so never went in. I had seen him playing, I was just walking around but went home for something to eat. About an hour later I came back out again and saw the ambulance there. Very sad day and one I’ll never forget. God bless him.

        Like

    2. Dean Cavanagh Avatar
      Dean Cavanagh

      Lived at 9 Runnimede Court fro 1972 to 1988.
      Was your dad Mr Parkes?

      Like

      1. Dean Cavanagh Avatar
        Dean Cavanagh

        I loved Mr Parkes.
        He was interesting to me.
        God bless.

        Like

  19. ian blake Avatar
    ian blake

    i spent most of my life on this estate life was good when i was a kid everyone knew each other friendships were formed out of a feeling of togetherness i have never felt anywhere else i miss the old jungle the thing they replaced it with is nowhere near as friendly!!!

    Like

  20. yvonne Avatar
    yvonne

    But it was a community. The first wave of people worked together. Watched each others kids play. Put together community events like jumble sales, coffee mornings for Avon and Tupperware parties. Even the great parties like the silver jubilee. Those areas you show covered in rubbish were spotless. People took pride in their estate.

    Then the council started moving in the families who were evicted from other places. Problem families with problem kids and it just started going downhill. The ‘good’ families started moving out, worried about the influence on their kids and they were replaced by people who were either evicted from elsewhere or were desperate to get a council house or had no idea of how the estate had started to go downhill. Some courts became no go areas and the good people were afraid to go out. Rubbish was dumped and the council stopped repairing the houses or clearing the rubbish.

    It was a good place to live once.

    Like

  21. Zoe white Avatar
    Zoe white

    I’ve lived on the jungle for 27years(all my life) I remember when they blew up the flats. The jungle is not the same. Most people don’t know their neighbours now although luckily I do. There is still a lot of the original people living there. I used to love the old jungle where as kids you could play out and not have parents worry about you as everyone knew who you were. The old kwik save, the bottom park (as we kids called it with Janet and June running things) and can’t forget the spon croft pub. 🙂

    Like

    1. Mark Avatar

      Janet is my mother and June is my Aunty both still doing very well . Was a good place to play

      Like

      1. Dean Cavanagh Avatar
        Dean Cavanagh

        Amazing what time can do to the melancholy!
        I remember you, Mark.
        A bully as I recall, along with Andrew Goodhall…
        How’s your sister, Tracey?
        I was never sure of your mom’s motivation but I just remember her being miserable whenever we were in the hut at the park…
        Maybe my memory is clouded…?

        Like

    2. leigsha smilw Avatar
      leigsha smilw

      My nan lived here. her name was Yvonne Smile

      Like

  22. royston white Avatar
    royston white

    Best times of my life

    Like

    1. barbie marvin Avatar
      barbie marvin

      ye I agree with ya xx

      Like

    2. Dean Cavanagh Avatar
      Dean Cavanagh

      How’s the graffiti going, Royston?
      I assume that you are not glue sniffing anymore?
      You won’t remember me but you were a bully.
      You were horrible to me and Tracy Harris!
      Ah, good times…

      Like

  23. barbie marvin Avatar
    barbie marvin

    I lived on raleigh court and loved growing up there would gladly go back there with all me old friends there

    Like

  24. preedyfella Avatar
    preedyfella

    Got some good childhood memories of that place, I used to live @ 1 Howard court

    Like

  25. On unexpected events | Up The Oss Road Avatar

    […] see from the success of Who Do You Think You Are, genealogy websites, Facebook groups, even the most popular posts on my own blog, that people really do care about the history of ordinary lives, of things […]

    Like

  26. “Slums” of the Black Country | Up The Oss Road Avatar

    […] The West Smethwick Estate in the 1980s, from the collection of Kate Gordon. […]

    Like

  27. Mark Avatar
    Mark

    We lived in Bardsley court my mom worked at the play centre Janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. syed jaffery Avatar
      syed jaffery

      I lived in Bardsley Court also … i think my house was 3 doors from the end, and we were the only Asian family on that court.

      We were poor but i never felt it.. some great times there …

      Syed

      Like

      1. Mark Avatar
        Mark

        Did you live at number 4 syed

        Like

      2. syed Avatar
        syed

        yes it was number 4. there was a wonderful family that lived further down bardes court and the lady was such an amazing person…. she had a couple of sons and i will never forget her she made such an impression on me…

        Like

      3. AHMAD Avatar
        AHMAD

        I ALSO LIKE TO LIVE THERE IF YOU NIOT MIND

        Like

    2. syed Avatar

      Mark I think you guys are the family who lived at the end of Bardsey Court… yes we lived at number 4.

      I left Birmingham,and worked in London banking. Last year I moved to Dubai…

      syed@ukr.ae

      Like

      1. Mark Avatar
        Mark

        Hey we lived at number 5 so next door to you .. and I live in Australia now

        Like

    3. Dean Cavanagh Avatar
      Dean Cavanagh

      Bardsey Court.
      I remember your mom.
      So unfriendly! I never understood why she did that “job”.
      Many kids, including me, were frightened of her. That’s not good is it?!

      Like

  28. Steve Shepheard Avatar
    Steve Shepheard

    We were one of the first families to move into the jungle on Mallard Court and we stayed there for eleven years. My family look at it and say ‘ my good it looks terrible ‘ and reply is always ‘ I wouldn’t have changed it for the world’. As a kid every day was an adventure and the community spirit was something that you rarely find nowadays and I’ve certainly not found it wherever I have lived since. Everyone looked out for each other. Special times.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Dean Hughes Avatar
    Dean Hughes

    I spent the first 6 or 7 years of my life at 5 rowan court between 77 and 83 ish. My parents were John and Karen Hughes, and we lived near the Kelly family….good friends we were the two families, but I remember all the kids being friends which was lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Ray Massey Avatar
    Ray Massey

    My family ‘Massey’ lived in both Bute Court and Runnymeade Court. We had great times and very sad times on the ‘Jungle’. Very good and long lasting friendships were formed – everybody knew each other and although we had nothing, most of us were in the same boat.
    We had a house fire in Bute Court and had to be moved to Runnymeade Court – In 1983 my brother Thomas was killed – crushed against the side of the housing block by a car out of control.
    My Mother ‘Avril’ still lived there until her death 11 years ago however her Husband Geoff is still on the revamped Jungle.
    I would love to see more pictures as I don’t have any!!
    I think the experience of the Concrete Jungle has made me the person I am today 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Surj Kumar Avatar

    Grew up in Clifford Court, fond memories, went to school over the road at Nine Leasowes now no longer there, sad times, has anyone got any more pics of the back and front of Clifford court please, if so please email to surj_kumar@live.co.uk Thanks

    Like

  32. jANET Avatar

    HI IM JANET I LIVED IN RALIEGH COURT NO 7 STILL PUTTING FOOT PATHS DOWN WHEN I MOVED IN EARLY 69 MOVED 1974 IT WAS VERY CLEAN THEN AND THE NEIGHBOURS WERE CLEAN AND FRIENDLY ALSO I
    KNEW AVRIL LONGTIME SHE HAD DAVID AN DAWN THEN USE TO SEE HER IN THE IVY BUSH NOW N AGAIN
    i WORKED AT THE WAGON AN HORSES WHILE I WAS THERE MY DAUGHTER WENT TO LEASOWS DEVINA WALTERS THEN

    Like

  33. PAUL Avatar
    PAUL

    BRILL PICTURES WE LIVED AT 12 TRENT COURT CONWAY DRIVE BEST TIMES OF OUR LIFE BRILL PLACE TO LIVE

    Like

    1. Ty reeves Avatar

      We lived at 8 Trent court in 1988 john reeves mates with Jc

      Like

  34. Robin Hildreth Avatar

    Robin hildreth Stockholm court and kid brother Russell hildreth lived there good old days . Blasted from the past

    Like

  35. Daniel Bagnall Avatar
    Daniel Bagnall

    I was bought up on there My mom Christine and my dad Danny Bagnall used to live there in ericsay court, my school was leasowes

    Like

  36. Jean Atherton Avatar
    Jean Atherton

    I lived in Clifford Court with my mom and dad (Marg and Dennis Sloan) and my 2 sisters Jayne and Janet. Lovely childhood memories.

    Like

  37. Roy Ashton Avatar
    Roy Ashton

    I moved to the jungle in 1969 when I was 5 years of age. I can remember many blocks were still under construction and going into unfinished properties to “help” decorators paint skirting boards. Mom (Irene), sister (Alison), brother (Martin) and myself (Roy) lived in Thames Court, opposite the shops. Some may remember Mom, she was the lollipop lady by the Spon Croft pub for over 16 years. My best memory – playing football on the grassed area in front of Thames court and Cyril Regis and Laurie Cunningham came walking past. I fell to my knees, totally star struck. We left the estate in 1979/1980.

    Happy Days – Happy memories

    Like

Leave a comment